King Dumpling 74 Hester Street New York, NY 10002

Don’t miss this wonderful little dumpling shop on the edge of Chinatown in the Lower East Side.

King Dumpling

74 Hester Street

New York, NY 10002

(917) 251-1249

https://www.menupix.com/nyc/restaurants/31859492/King-Dumplings-New-York-NY

Open: Sunday-Thursday 9:00am-10:00pm/Friday 9:00am-9:00pm/Saturday 9:00am-10:00pm

My review on TripAdvisor:

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g60763-d17726251-Reviews-King_Dumpling-New_York_City_New_York.html?m=19905

King Dumpling at 74 Hester Street

There are times you find those little ‘hole in the wall’ restaurants that just standout because of the quality of their food and their prices that make them affordable to everyone. King Dumpling at 74 Hester Street is one of them. Everything that I have tried there has been excellent and the portion sizes are very fair.

The dumplings and wontons are made right in front of you

I had watched one of the “Cheap Chinatown Eats” videos from the Fung Brothers and they had mentioned the restaurant as a great place to get dumplings (one of my favorite things) and that they were only $3.00 for ten. I had to try it and have to say that it lives up to its reputation.

The logo at King Dumpling

On my first trip to King Dumpling, I tried the Fried Chive & Pork Dumplings ($3.50) and I ordered ten very large freshly fried dumplings loaded with a delicious pork and chive mixture that came on a large plate with a pair of chop sticks. They were quickly devoured. God were they good. They were crisp on the outside and tender and juicy on the inside. Then I saw someone order the steamed ones and I said that I had to come back and try them.

The Fried Pork & Chive Dumplings are really crisp

The perfect dumpling meal

Six days later I was back, and I ordered the Steamed Pork & Chive Dumplings ($4.00) and I thought that they were even better. I thought by steaming them it really brought out the flavor of the pork. I washed them down with an icy Coke and on a hot day, it really hits the spot.

The steamed dumplings are so juicy

I studied the menu online as I knew I was coming back into the City the next week and I had to try the dumplings in a noodle soup. On my third trip to Chinatown, I returned to the restaurant and had to try the Pork & Chive Dumpling Noodle Soup ($6.00).

The Chive & Pork Dumpling Noodle Soup was really good

Even on a hot day there is nothing like a steaming bowl of chicken noodle soup with dumplings. This was also one large bowl of soup. The soup was served in a large plastic bowl and was loaded with about five Pork & Chive dumplings, Bok Choy, a large portion of Lo Mein noodles and a clear chicken broth.

The soup was really good but I have to admit that the chicken broth did not have a lot of flavor. You could taste the chicken but it was not as rich as some of the other soups I have tried in Chinatown.

The street art at King Dumpling is excellent!

The one thing I have to say is that they are always busy. All three times I have been to King Dumpling, the place was packed with people not just eating there but also with take out. The owner of the place always has a look on his face like he can’t believe the crowds. This little take out place is always being talked about online with food bloggers and on YouTube that it has a great word of mouth.

The dumplings were wonderful the second time around

That’s because the food is wonderful and the prices are very fair.

The artwork on the King Dumpling roll down steel doors at closing.

Author: jwatrel

I am a free-lance writer and Blogger. I am the author of the book "Firehouse 101" (IUniverse.com 2005) part of trilogy of books centered in New York City. My next book "Love Triangles" is finished being edited and should be ready for release in the Fall. My latest book, "Dinner at Midnight", a thriller is on its last chapter. My long awaited book explains the loss of the 2004 Yankee game to Boston. I work as a Consultant, Adjunct College Professor, Volunteer Fireman and Ambulance member and Blogger. I have a blog site for caregivers called 'bergencountycaregiver', a step by step survival guide to all you wonderful folks taking care of your loved ones, a walking project to walk every block, both sides, of the island of Manhattan "MywalkinManhattan" and discuss what I see and find on the streets of New York and three sites to accompany it. One is an arts site called "Visiting a Museum", where I showcase small museums, historical sites and parks that are off the beaten track both in Manhattan and outside the city to cross reference with "MywalkinManhattan" blog site. Another is "DiningonaShoeStringNYC", featuring small restaurants I have found on my travels in this project, that offer wonderful meals for $10.00 and under. So be on the lookout for updates on all three sites and enjoy 'MywalkinManhattan'. The third is my latest site, "LittleShoponMainStreet", which showcases all the unique and independent shops that I have found on my travels throughout and around Manhattan. I have started two new blog sites for the fire department, one "EngineOneHasbrouck HeightsFireDepartmentnj" for the Hasbrouck Heights Fire Department to discuss what our Engine Company is doing and the other is "BergenCountyFireman'sHomeAssociation" for the Bergen County Fireman's Association, which fire fighters from Bergen County, NJ, go to the Fireman's Home in Boonton, NJ to bring entertainment and cheer to our fellow brother fire fighters quarterly.

3 thoughts on “King Dumpling 74 Hester Street New York, NY 10002”

Leave a comment